View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Oct 16, 2017 11:10 pm



Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
FreeEMS design guideline 
Author Message
LQFP112 - Up with the play

Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 6:30 pm
Posts: 135
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
jharvey wrote:
using kicad because of it's portability

Anyone know what MS developers use(d) - is it orcad?


Thu Jul 03, 2008 10:22 am
Profile WWW
1N4001 - Signed up
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 5:17 pm
Posts: 1607
I'm curious what folks might prefer for spice? I see fedora core comes with ngspice, but it looks kind of hard to use at first glance. Also I'm not sure how portable it is. I see sourceforge has a win32, but I don't know what the ngspice-rework means.

There is also http://qucs.sourceforge.net/screenshots.html it's free as in beer looks like FC8 has a copy as well. Anyone got a recommendation? Looks like I'll have to enter schematics twice to use it.

I think I'll go for qucs for now.


Sun Jul 06, 2008 9:20 pm
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 14820
Location: Home sweet home!
Jared, most software is free as in beer, but only some is free as in speech. Qucs is both :-)
Quote:
License
Qucs is released under the GPL license and so it is free for free programmers and users !
qucs.sourceforge.net/index.html

Fred.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Sun Jul 06, 2008 9:43 pm
Profile WWW
1N4001 - Signed up
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 5:17 pm
Posts: 1607
Fred wrote:
Jared, most software is free as in beer, but only some is free as in speech. Qucs is both :-)

Great, I read a forum post where some one claimed different. I probably should have confirm that. Glad to here it is free.

I don't see IGBT's in the list of premade parts. I wanted to model some of the circuits from some of the vendor data sheets. Seems I'll need to make the parts I guess. Well I've got more to learn. I'm used to doing this a bit more manually. You know with an iron.

I see http://www.st.com/stonline/products/fam ... /d2pak.htm offers models for thier IGBT's, any translators out ther by chance?


Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:45 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF. ColorizeIt.