Why Freescale S12X?

From DIY contraptions to sophisticated FreeEMS-specific designs! Plus general hardware development!
whitenoise
TO220 - Visibile

Why Freescale S12X?

Post by whitenoise »

I know very little about microcontrollers (i'm a mechanical engineer), and I don't have a better idea either, but I would like the team to clarify why this family and manufacturer was chosen? Was it

a) Familiarity with the instruction set.

b) Availability of a good low-cost prototype board in the form of the ADAPT, which has all the essential development hardware, and only needs circuits for signal conditioning/protection/power regulation. For a project like this, I would think that this is more important that easy availability of the chip itself, which would prove useless to the home experimenter due to its non-DIP packaging.

c) Proven in automotive body electronics, and its sister the MC9S12C64 in megasquirt-2 hardware.

d) Availability of -40 to +125 rated chip as well should the need arise.

Why not Atmel AVR/AVR32? They are available in single quantities, are cheap, are known to have a good "performance-to-price" ratio, easy to get started with, and have a huge huge following in the DIY community too.

Not trying to shoot down anyone, just initiating a discussion on this specially since its bound to come up sooner or later.
Fred

Re: Why Freescale S12X?

Post by Fred »

http://www.diyefi.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=84

B,C,D, and also proven to have enough performance to do the job well reliably using the GCC tool chain.

Mainly B though as you noted. It sure reduces the entry cost time wise :-)

Admin.
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!
GrowlingandBiffo
QFP80 - Contributor

Post by GrowlingandBiffo »