View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Jul 23, 2017 1:54 am



Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Porting MrOnion's OnionBoard to Kicad 
Author Message
QFP80 - Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 3:09 pm
Posts: 37
I found some eagle scripts to convert it which I have managed to get through but it relies on the KiCad's PCBnew importer to bring in the PCB file and this just keeps hanging for me. Tried both OSX and Windoze without success. Will have another go tonight. If I have no success I'll try to draft it from scratch.

The scripts are available below if anyones interested

https://github.com/lachlanA/eagle-to-kicad


Sat Nov 12, 2016 1:22 am
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 14659
Location: Home sweet home!
Great! Are you doing the schematics first? The layout stuff may rely on that. And you might need some sort of footprint mapping, too. Not sure. Just a few things to figure out :-)

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Sat Nov 12, 2016 1:25 am
Profile WWW
QFP80 - Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 3:09 pm
Posts: 37
Yes, the scripts extend and run under Eagle, they convert the component id's, the schematics and libraries first, then create a KiCad project. Lastly you have import the PCB natively in KiCad but this is the part that hangs for me.

It might be enough to start with the converted schematics and re-lay out the board, which for the most part needs to be redone to get the routing right..

I will try to figure it out later. All a good learning experience for me. The last time I did anything with PCBs was over 25 years ago and that involved drawing your design on the board with letraset and a marker pen.


Sat Nov 12, 2016 1:40 am
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 14659
Location: Home sweet home!
Make sure you fork MrOnion's repo and commit your changes as you go in clean stages :-)

Which OS are you kicading on? Which version of kicad? Installed how?

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Sat Nov 12, 2016 1:48 am
Profile WWW
QFP80 - Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 3:09 pm
Posts: 37
I'm on OSX but also have Linux in a VM if things don't work out but I prefer to work natively in OSX

Standard install from downloaded files. Have also tried a more recent update branch that was supposed to fix the aforementioned issue but still the same.

Will definitely fork and commit the changes once I get to that stage.


Sat Nov 12, 2016 2:51 am
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 14659
Location: Home sweet home!
My experience with Kicad on OSX: Unusable. There is a win-osx converter wrapper, I used that with success on my macbook air back in the day. OSX Kicad was always flaky as a leper.

IE, use the win wrapper or do it in Linux.

Re committing, commit early, and often. Not one massive commit. One with the schematics, one with PCB, any other steps you can differentiate from the rest. etc.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Sat Nov 12, 2016 7:13 am
Profile WWW
QFP80 - Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 3:09 pm
Posts: 37
Just installing it under my Linux VM, will see if thats any better


Sat Nov 12, 2016 11:03 am
Profile
QFP80 - Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 3:09 pm
Posts: 37
Nah, no different. Back to the drawing board.


Mon Nov 14, 2016 1:39 pm
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 14659
Location: Home sweet home!
Bugger. Have you reached out to the community or person behind the tool?

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Mon Nov 14, 2016 10:28 pm
Profile WWW
QFP80 - Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 3:09 pm
Posts: 37
Nah, I don't have the time to debug someones else's work, especially across time zones, time is far too precious a commodity. Quicker and less painful to re-draft it.


Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:34 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF. ColorizeIt.