View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:48 pm



Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
MrOnion's OnionBoard - GP IO/Power PCB (requires CPU board) 
Author Message
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 14871
Location: Home sweet home!
Never didn't work for me.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Tue Oct 08, 2013 3:44 pm
Profile WWW
QFP80 - Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:03 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Espoo, Finland
Ok, 5 pcs of onionboards arrived on friday but are still stuck in customs so will get them on mon/tue.

First batch is small just to make sure the board is ok. I will keep one or two for myself and send two to Fred. So basically there is an extra one if someone is brave enough to try it ;). AND possess some sort of separate VR conditioner, preferrably the BrickRPM.

The first version has the headers to match the pinout of the BrickRPM board so it depends on it. As you may know Fred is pretty busy at the moment and there is no date set when new bricks will be available. Fred kindly offered me the change to make more bricks myself if I decide to order more onions to keep things rolling.

As this whole onionboard thing is basically a replacement for vero/other diy boards the demand is not huge. And if someone is getting their hands dirty on freeems from scratch I definately recommend to get a Jaguar board over this setup as it's more thoroughly tested! Of course if someone is planning to play around with a different CPU then this might come in handy, but this is out of the scope of freeems.

So, if there are people interested in this board I can easily order more and this might create the demand to get more brickrpm boards on the side. Or I can include the footprints for the conditioner in the onionboard instead of the headers and order more of that version.

The latter seems like a better idea from my point of view as I don't need to populate the boards with parts as I need to do if I ship bricks. I also feel that I don't have the equipment to properly create and test the bricks and therefore not wanting to stain the brick brand :).

I already made a separate branch for the board with it's own VR conditioner. It's a quick draft based on Jaguar:

EDIT: Changed correct component values to schem and moved the chip a bit to the left on board.

Image
Image

If someone spots a flaw in the design give me a warning and Fred, I hope you are not heartbroken about this change ;)

And I almost forgot to mention I released the project in github:
https://github.com/MrOnion/Onionboard

The schematic is also cleaned up for easier review. Need to include PDFs and a BOM later. The VR circuit is not in github yet.


Last edited by MrOnion on Sun Oct 20, 2013 3:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Sun Oct 20, 2013 12:29 pm
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 14871
Location: Home sweet home!
Neat :-) No, I don't feel rejected :-p

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Sun Oct 20, 2013 2:51 pm
Profile WWW
QFP80 - Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:03 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Espoo, Finland
Quick proof that they actually exist ;). Silkscreen is shit, but thats what you get when using a skinny and tiny font :(.

Also f**ked up the heatsink placement but that can be modified. The molex connector holes are the right size but the legs on my connector are squared so they wont fit without a fight... But, all in all boards look ok. I'm happy.

Image

Image

I'll try to assemble one during the weekend...


Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:15 pm
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 14871
Location: Home sweet home!
Awesome! Mind if I publish those here and there? :-)

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:51 pm
Profile WWW
QFP80 - Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:03 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Espoo, Finland
Sure, go right ahead.


Tue Oct 22, 2013 11:02 pm
Profile
LQFP112 - Up with the play
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 9:16 pm
Posts: 148
Location: Rotterdam, the Netherlands
What's the idea behind those clustered via's? Haven't seen them put in traces before.

_________________
FABRICA MI DIEM, PVNC!


Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:02 am
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 14871
Location: Home sweet home!
Current flows up through them, and potentially quite a lot of it.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:58 am
Profile WWW
QFP80 - Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:03 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Espoo, Finland
Yep, that's the point. I read an article once where there was some info about should you use many small vias over one large. The conclusion was that it didn't make too much of a difference.

I have seen these used in several other boards with H-bridge drivers, etc. Chips that need to sink high currents.

Edit:

In here it says:
"When vias are used to connect PCB layers in the high current loop, multiple vias should be used to minimize via impedance."


Last edited by MrOnion on Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:17 am, edited 1 time in total.



Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:13 am
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 14871
Location: Home sweet home!
It helps get the heat out a bit, too :-)

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:15 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF. ColorizeIt.