Bootloader won't work on my board(It's working now)

For people running FreeEMS to discuss it and ask any questions about using and adjusting it.
User avatar
HotCat
LQFP112 - Up with the play
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:35 am

Bootloader won't work on my board(It's working now)

Post by HotCat »

My SCI function good and I can receive bytes from my test firmware
Image

so I download the bootloader
Image

and watch it run through BDM until it enters the dead loop
Image

but the bootloader won't respond to the FreeEMS loader, the FreeEMS loader issues 0xb4, 0x0d
Image

Find many issues on layout, some large current path doesn't have enough clearance to ground
Image

I really regret to spend much time on HW, I should buy TechArt board
Image
Last edited by HotCat on Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:37 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Fred
Moderator
Posts: 15431
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Location: Home sweet home!
Contact:

Re: Bootloader won't work on my board

Post by Fred »

2 things:

1) What type of serial do you have?
2) What state is your boot load jumper in?

If you have the right type of serial, and forgot the jumper, it'd be trying to run firmware code, and failing. You need to jumper it to make the serial monitor run and not bypass to the firmware. If the firmware is not installed, then you'll get nothing in that mode. If it's installed correctly it'll dump out data.

Make sure parity is off in the loader, which is the default, but in case you changed it...

Re hardware dev, keep at it, you'll get there in the end, and you can recycle the cpus and other ICs if you're careful.

Fred.
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!
User avatar
Fred
Moderator
Posts: 15431
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Location: Home sweet home!
Contact:

Re: Bootloader won't work on my board

Post by Fred »

I see the jumper in the picture. Check the voltage at it, please.
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!
User avatar
Fred
Moderator
Posts: 15431
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Location: Home sweet home!
Contact:

Re: Bootloader won't work on my board

Post by Fred »

Re your SCI being good or bad, please record a data stream and try to decode it with the util in the firmware bin dir or OLV.

You can try this if you want:

http://tmp.fredcooke.com/OpenLogViewer- ... APSHOT.jar

Use a terminal: java -jar OpenLogViewer-0.0.3-SNAPSHOT.jar

Watch the text output from the app in the terminal. Paste the stats here in a code block.

Fred.
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!
User avatar
SleepyKeys
LQFP144 - On Top Of The Game
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:52 pm
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: Bootloader won't work on my board

Post by SleepyKeys »

Hi,
Try this, to be sure that the serial monitor is at least trying to run.

With a terminal program, such as cutecom, send the following byte:

const char SMReturn = 0x0D;

and expect it to echo this:

const char SMRDY[3] = { 0xe0, 0x00, 0x3e };

-Sean

PS.

Setup the port like this:
115200, 8, 1, NONE
You snooze, you lose!
User avatar
DeuceEFI
LQFP144 - On Top Of The Game
Posts: 578
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:57 am
Location: Gosport, IN USA
Contact:

Re: Bootloader won't work on my board

Post by DeuceEFI »

HotCat,
Didn't you change one of pins on the BDM to prevent you from connecting the power reversed, or did you change the pin out of the BDM back to the universal standard?

It should have failed to connect to the MCU with the Freescale software if one of the four pins on the BDM was missing...

I'm just throwing out ideas...
User avatar
Fred
Moderator
Posts: 15431
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Location: Home sweet home!
Contact:

Re: Bootloader won't work on my board

Post by Fred »

Deuce, that's a 10 pin cable, the 6 pins appear to be present on the board.

Hotcat, did you get a successful BDM burn of the serial monitor to the MCU and verify it by pulling it back off again? If not, that's the first step that you need to achieve before you try to use the loader.

Fred.
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!
User avatar
HotCat
LQFP112 - Up with the play
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:35 am

Re: Bootloader won't work on my board

Post by HotCat »

Fred wrote:I see the jumper in the picture. Check the voltage at it, please.
I've checked the voltage, when the jumper was on, I got 0.0v on net N-000106. When removing the jumper, I got 4.95v

Image

Image
Last edited by HotCat on Sat Aug 11, 2012 10:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
HotCat
LQFP112 - Up with the play
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:35 am

Re: Bootloader won't work on my board

Post by HotCat »

Sean0 wrote:Hi,
Try this, to be sure that the serial monitor is at least trying to run.

With a terminal program, such as cutecom, send the following byte:

const char SMReturn = 0x0D;

and expect it to echo this:

const char SMRDY[3] = { 0xe0, 0x00, 0x3e };

-Sean

PS.

Setup the port like this:
115200, 8, 1, NONE
The FreeEMS_Loader already issues that 0x0D, but no respond

Image
User avatar
HotCat
LQFP112 - Up with the play
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:35 am

Re: Bootloader won't work on my board

Post by HotCat »

Fred wrote:Deuce, that's a 10 pin cable, the 6 pins appear to be present on the board.

Hotcat, did you get a successful BDM burn of the serial monitor to the MCU and verify it by pulling it back off again? If not, that's the first step that you need to achieve before you try to use the loader.

Fred.
I wrote a tiny program in codewarrior, it can send string to my PC. So I think the BDM works fine. I burn the bootloader by loading the S19 file directly. It seems fine and no error messages. How can I prove it is OK? I am not understand your words "verify it by pulling it back off again?"
Last edited by HotCat on Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply