View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 12:56 am



Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Bootloader won't work on my board(It's working now) 
Author Message
LQFP112 - Up with the play
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:35 am
Posts: 110
My SCI function good and I can receive bytes from my test firmware
Image

so I download the bootloader
Image

and watch it run through BDM until it enters the dead loop
Image

but the bootloader won't respond to the FreeEMS loader, the FreeEMS loader issues 0xb4, 0x0d
Image

Find many issues on layout, some large current path doesn't have enough clearance to ground
Image

I really regret to spend much time on HW, I should buy TechArt board
Image


Last edited by HotCat on Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:37 am, edited 2 times in total.



Thu Aug 09, 2012 6:14 pm
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 15181
Location: Home sweet home!
2 things:

1) What type of serial do you have?
2) What state is your boot load jumper in?

If you have the right type of serial, and forgot the jumper, it'd be trying to run firmware code, and failing. You need to jumper it to make the serial monitor run and not bypass to the firmware. If the firmware is not installed, then you'll get nothing in that mode. If it's installed correctly it'll dump out data.

Make sure parity is off in the loader, which is the default, but in case you changed it...

Re hardware dev, keep at it, you'll get there in the end, and you can recycle the cpus and other ICs if you're careful.

Fred.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:26 pm
Profile WWW
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 15181
Location: Home sweet home!
I see the jumper in the picture. Check the voltage at it, please.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:27 pm
Profile WWW
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 15181
Location: Home sweet home!
Re your SCI being good or bad, please record a data stream and try to decode it with the util in the firmware bin dir or OLV.

You can try this if you want:

http://tmp.fredcooke.com/OpenLogViewer- ... APSHOT.jar

Use a terminal: java -jar OpenLogViewer-0.0.3-SNAPSHOT.jar

Watch the text output from the app in the terminal. Paste the stats here in a code block.

Fred.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:32 pm
Profile WWW
LQFP144 - On Top Of The Game
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:52 pm
Posts: 549
Location: Arizona
Hi,
Try this, to be sure that the serial monitor is at least trying to run.

With a terminal program, such as cutecom, send the following byte:

const char SMReturn = 0x0D;

and expect it to echo this:

const char SMRDY[3] = { 0xe0, 0x00, 0x3e };

-Sean

PS.

Setup the port like this:
115200, 8, 1, NONE

_________________
You snooze, you lose!


Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:44 pm
Profile YIM
LQFP144 - On Top Of The Game
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:57 am
Posts: 565
Location: Gosport, IN USA
HotCat,
Didn't you change one of pins on the BDM to prevent you from connecting the power reversed, or did you change the pin out of the BDM back to the universal standard?

It should have failed to connect to the MCU with the Freescale software if one of the four pins on the BDM was missing...

I'm just throwing out ideas...

_________________
Andy.
FreeEMS vehicle #11, 1932 Ford 5 Window Coupe with a 1996 GM 3.1L SFI V6 with DIS ignition
FreeEMS vehicle #16, 1996 Chevrolet S10 2.2L SFI I4 with DIS ignition
http://www.coolefi.com


Thu Aug 09, 2012 11:24 pm
Profile WWW
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 15181
Location: Home sweet home!
Deuce, that's a 10 pin cable, the 6 pins appear to be present on the board.

Hotcat, did you get a successful BDM burn of the serial monitor to the MCU and verify it by pulling it back off again? If not, that's the first step that you need to achieve before you try to use the loader.

Fred.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:23 am
Profile WWW
LQFP112 - Up with the play
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:35 am
Posts: 110
Fred wrote:
I see the jumper in the picture. Check the voltage at it, please.


I've checked the voltage, when the jumper was on, I got 0.0v on net N-000106. When removing the jumper, I got 4.95v

Image

Image


Last edited by HotCat on Sat Aug 11, 2012 10:56 am, edited 1 time in total.



Fri Aug 10, 2012 1:12 am
Profile
LQFP112 - Up with the play
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:35 am
Posts: 110
Sean0 wrote:
Hi,
Try this, to be sure that the serial monitor is at least trying to run.

With a terminal program, such as cutecom, send the following byte:

const char SMReturn = 0x0D;

and expect it to echo this:

const char SMRDY[3] = { 0xe0, 0x00, 0x3e };

-Sean

PS.

Setup the port like this:
115200, 8, 1, NONE


The FreeEMS_Loader already issues that 0x0D, but no respond

Image


Fri Aug 10, 2012 1:19 am
Profile
LQFP112 - Up with the play
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:35 am
Posts: 110
Fred wrote:
Deuce, that's a 10 pin cable, the 6 pins appear to be present on the board.

Hotcat, did you get a successful BDM burn of the serial monitor to the MCU and verify it by pulling it back off again? If not, that's the first step that you need to achieve before you try to use the loader.

Fred.


I wrote a tiny program in codewarrior, it can send string to my PC. So I think the BDM works fine. I burn the bootloader by loading the S19 file directly. It seems fine and no error messages. How can I prove it is OK? I am not understand your words "verify it by pulling it back off again?"


Last edited by HotCat on Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:38 am, edited 1 time in total.



Fri Aug 10, 2012 1:26 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF. ColorizeIt.