Pluggable backends

Aaron Barnes' wxPython based FreeEMS tuning tool. No longer maintained and out of date with the protocol requirements.
sry_not4sale
LQFP144 - On Top Of The Game

Pluggable backends

Post by sry_not4sale »

Fred wrote:Aaron and/or Ben and anyone else :

I would VERY strongly encourage you to put a LOT of thought into configurations and firmware versioning etc. There are a few ways to go, but I'm told the tuning tool build per firmware option isn't a good one. It is one that you can guarantee no user induced bugs with though! Having stuff like the INI file in megatune is NASTY but there does need to be some form of configuration to some extent regardless.

For JEMSTuner I was thinking about a sort of dependency hierarchy where an interface version maps to one protocol, one data mapping, one config and any number of front ends map over the top of those. I'm no expert on this, but it needs to be considered carfully.

The data you will have access to is laid out in FixedConfig.c and the various tables files.

I'll be posting here again tomorrow with a few words about the new release of the firmware (if all goes well)

Fred.
I am looking at implementing this using a python module per interface version. Python modules can inherit from each other, so each time a new version comes out I can just add the new functionality - and if it has changed, just redefine the behaviour in the new module.

Also, I will define "required functionality", methods that must be defined in the firmware module to display an interface element.
Owner / Builder: 1983 Mazda Cosmo 12at (1200cc 2-rotor turbo) coupe [SPASTK]
165hp @ 6psi standard - fastest production car in japan Oct 82
Fred

Re: Pluggable backends

Post by Fred »