View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:14 pm



Reply to topic  [ 91 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
FreeEMS-Loader 
Author Message
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 15142
Location: Home sweet home!
Re the file writing thing, firefox does it well! First grab the file, then create a .part version of it, populate that, then atomically move it to the correct name.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Thu Jan 13, 2011 12:22 pm
Profile WWW
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 15142
Location: Home sweet home!
The change is made, you're now in the hot seat! EVERYONE that wants to load code, now requires your app to erase the device.

May the force be with you :-)

Fred.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:17 pm
Profile WWW
LQFP144 - On Top Of The Game
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:52 pm
Posts: 549
Location: Arizona
Thanks for the feedback! Most of what your are complaining about I'm already aware of. The app is still in the function over form stage.

The good news:
I might have the QT::notify() error fixed.
I can make those GUI changes quickly.

The bad new:
I'm headed to the dunes this evening and wont be back until Sunday. I will push my changes shortly and have you test them.

_________________
You snooze, you lose!


Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:21 pm
Profile YIM
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 15142
Location: Home sweet home!
Connect still doesn't work on the mac, erase needs to be checked by default.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Thu Jan 13, 2011 10:48 pm
Profile WWW
LQFP112 - Up with the play

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 6:30 pm
Posts: 100
On linux: tested on a fresh pull from seank's repo at 16:50 EST jan 13 2011
noted the following issues: Erase before load isn't checked by default, clicking connect didn't change any buttons, but did display "CLI output redirected" and "set flash type to S12XDP512. Hitting connect again displayed the same and un-greyed the buttons, erase seemed to lockup the whole ui for a while, then it dumped a lot of Error validating SMErasePage confirmation, page may be erased messages and some junks chars. Device appears to be erased in the sense that the previously working firmware that was on it no longer flashes the LED (TA card)

_________________
-- David
http://www.megatunix.com
http://megatunix.sourceforge.net


Thu Jan 13, 2011 10:50 pm
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 15142
Location: Home sweet home!
OK, tested the latest build on linux d69daa5 and had to click connect twice to get a connect, but it worked! rip, erase, load, in order, very nice. The rip file name thing is bad, it says "save as" and means "load from and save as to .saved" which I don't like, the ripped file should be dated, in some common dir, not the one the new file is sourced from, and end with .s19 not .saved. Now, we should test on windows and fix it on the mac!

Well done Sean! :-)

Fred.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:38 am
Profile WWW
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 15142
Location: Home sweet home!
Two more things:

rip before load and erase before load have a relationship, ie, if you're not erasing, then it is already erased, and thus you shouldnt be able to choose rip if you don't have erase checked. So renaming it "rip before erase and adding the dependency visually greying out the rip box and unchecking it if erase is not checked would be a good thing.

not certain about this, but software/hardware handshake are probably mutually exclusive, hence radio buttons instead of check boxes for those?

Fred.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Thu Feb 03, 2011 2:03 am
Profile WWW
LQFP144 - On Top Of The Game
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:52 pm
Posts: 549
Location: Arizona
Yeah there are still tons of TODO's in the code.
ripFileName += ".saved"; //TODO also append with date-time

"shouldnt be able to choose rip if you don't have erase checked. " what if you just want to rip to verify that somehow the firmware isn't corrupt at a later date(firmware malfunction etc)?????

_________________
You snooze, you lose!


Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:05 pm
Profile YIM
LQFP144 - On Top Of The Game
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:52 pm
Posts: 549
Location: Arizona
./saved/ work 4 you ?

_________________
You snooze, you lose!


Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:38 pm
Profile YIM
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 15142
Location: Home sweet home!
seank wrote:
"shouldnt be able to choose rip if you don't have erase checked. " what if you just want to rip to verify that somehow the firmware isn't corrupt at a later date(firmware malfunction etc)?????

That would be the function of the rip button wouldn't it? IE, JUST rip, not actually load.

Re the naming, when you say ./saved/ where is . ? how about ~/FreeEMS/RippedFirmware/ or something? seems ugly to polute thee home dir, but you could have the FreeEMS root dir (maybe shared by all apps?) configurable from the .freeems-loader.rc file?

Fred.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:13 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 91 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF. ColorizeIt.