FreeEMS-Loader

FreeEMS topics that aren't specific to hardware development or firmware development.
User avatar
Fred
Moderator
Posts: 15431
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Location: Home sweet home!
Contact:

Re: FreeEMS-Loader

Post by Fred »

Re the file writing thing, firefox does it well! First grab the file, then create a .part version of it, populate that, then atomically move it to the correct name.
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!
User avatar
Fred
Moderator
Posts: 15431
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Location: Home sweet home!
Contact:

Re: FreeEMS-Loader

Post by Fred »

The change is made, you're now in the hot seat! EVERYONE that wants to load code, now requires your app to erase the device.

May the force be with you :-)

Fred.
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!
User avatar
SleepyKeys
LQFP144 - On Top Of The Game
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:52 pm
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: FreeEMS-Loader

Post by SleepyKeys »

Thanks for the feedback! Most of what your are complaining about I'm already aware of. The app is still in the function over form stage.

The good news:
I might have the QT::notify() error fixed.
I can make those GUI changes quickly.

The bad new:
I'm headed to the dunes this evening and wont be back until Sunday. I will push my changes shortly and have you test them.
You snooze, you lose!
User avatar
Fred
Moderator
Posts: 15431
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Location: Home sweet home!
Contact:

Re: FreeEMS-Loader

Post by Fred »

Connect still doesn't work on the mac, erase needs to be checked by default.
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!
dandruczyk
LQFP112 - Up with the play
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 6:30 pm

Re: FreeEMS-Loader

Post by dandruczyk »

On linux: tested on a fresh pull from seank's repo at 16:50 EST jan 13 2011
noted the following issues: Erase before load isn't checked by default, clicking connect didn't change any buttons, but did display "CLI output redirected" and "set flash type to S12XDP512. Hitting connect again displayed the same and un-greyed the buttons, erase seemed to lockup the whole ui for a while, then it dumped a lot of Error validating SMErasePage confirmation, page may be erased messages and some junks chars. Device appears to be erased in the sense that the previously working firmware that was on it no longer flashes the LED (TA card)
User avatar
Fred
Moderator
Posts: 15431
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Location: Home sweet home!
Contact:

Re: FreeEMS-Loader

Post by Fred »

OK, tested the latest build on linux d69daa5 and had to click connect twice to get a connect, but it worked! rip, erase, load, in order, very nice. The rip file name thing is bad, it says "save as" and means "load from and save as to .saved" which I don't like, the ripped file should be dated, in some common dir, not the one the new file is sourced from, and end with .s19 not .saved. Now, we should test on windows and fix it on the mac!

Well done Sean! :-)

Fred.
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!
User avatar
Fred
Moderator
Posts: 15431
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Location: Home sweet home!
Contact:

Re: FreeEMS-Loader

Post by Fred »

Two more things:

rip before load and erase before load have a relationship, ie, if you're not erasing, then it is already erased, and thus you shouldnt be able to choose rip if you don't have erase checked. So renaming it "rip before erase and adding the dependency visually greying out the rip box and unchecking it if erase is not checked would be a good thing.

not certain about this, but software/hardware handshake are probably mutually exclusive, hence radio buttons instead of check boxes for those?

Fred.
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!
User avatar
SleepyKeys
LQFP144 - On Top Of The Game
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:52 pm
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: FreeEMS-Loader

Post by SleepyKeys »

Yeah there are still tons of TODO's in the code.
ripFileName += ".saved"; //TODO also append with date-time

"shouldnt be able to choose rip if you don't have erase checked. " what if you just want to rip to verify that somehow the firmware isn't corrupt at a later date(firmware malfunction etc)?????
You snooze, you lose!
User avatar
SleepyKeys
LQFP144 - On Top Of The Game
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:52 pm
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: FreeEMS-Loader

Post by SleepyKeys »

./saved/ work 4 you ?
You snooze, you lose!
User avatar
Fred
Moderator
Posts: 15431
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Location: Home sweet home!
Contact:

Re: FreeEMS-Loader

Post by Fred »

seank wrote:"shouldnt be able to choose rip if you don't have erase checked. " what if you just want to rip to verify that somehow the firmware isn't corrupt at a later date(firmware malfunction etc)?????
That would be the function of the rip button wouldn't it? IE, JUST rip, not actually load.

Re the naming, when you say ./saved/ where is . ? how about ~/FreeEMS/RippedFirmware/ or something? seems ugly to polute thee home dir, but you could have the FreeEMS root dir (maybe shared by all apps?) configurable from the .freeems-loader.rc file?

Fred.
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!
Post Reply