View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 6:01 pm



Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
building a harness 
Author Message
LQFP144 - On Top Of The Game
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:57 am
Posts: 565
Location: Gosport, IN USA
Clarification on the Oil Pressure Switch (OPS) setup on the S10:

The Oil Pressure Switch is in series with the 12v positive supply to the fuel pump relay and the factory ECM is still in place in that circuit for the time being, which bypasses the OPS during key on, supplying 12v to the fuel pump relay. The firmware/Jaguar board supplies the connection to ground through the Fuel Pump FET (Low Side Driver) completing the electrical path to allow the fuel pump relay to be energized.

I need to finish the wiring harness modification to get rid of the factory ECM/Oil Pressure Switch as I don't see the truck leaving my possession any time soon. It is too much fun! :-)

_________________
Andy.
FreeEMS vehicle #11, 1932 Ford 5 Window Coupe with a 1996 GM 3.1L SFI V6 with DIS ignition
FreeEMS vehicle #16, 1996 Chevrolet S10 2.2L SFI I4 with DIS ignition
http://www.coolefi.com


Tue Apr 30, 2013 4:44 pm
Profile WWW
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 15143
Location: Home sweet home!
andg wrote:
So for my setup using the 3x signal I have a few things to determine. Do I need bigger injectors? Will I be using sequential injection or pairs? Will there be a different state at idle

Stock injectors are fine.
Pairs for now, but run all 6 wires all the way to the board if you're doing a new loom.
No special idle state, no.

Quote:
I'll settle for a switch if I have to. I'll likely figure out something easy for the fuel.

It should be straight forward to gain control of the relay in some form or other :-)

Quote:
I also have a test port that I have a flexible hose attached to that I can pull the plug out really easily so the engine can stay running at fast idle while I'm outside of it.
<snip>
I have a vacuum line that runs through my harness. It will have a plug and go to the test port. I can control it from inside the vehicle without too much trouble, thanks.

Or inside of it! Mine would hiss under boost if I forgot to close it :-)

Fred.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Tue Apr 30, 2013 4:56 pm
Profile WWW
TO220 - Visibile

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 1:58 am
Posts: 7
Fred wrote:
Hello and welcome, Nathan!

Sorry to be obtuse, but ask again end of next week and there will be more info on that subject :-)

Fred.



Fred/Andy,

It was mentioned there might be some movement on the Jaguar front by the end of this week- any news? Would love to get my hands on a PCB. Just scored this on craigs list for $50 so I have another tool for diagnosis/development:


Attachments:
Saleae Logic 8.jpg
Saleae Logic 8.jpg [ 28.08 KiB | Viewed 1430 times ]
Thu May 02, 2013 1:47 pm
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 15143
Location: Home sweet home!
Good score! :-) I'll point Andy here and he can fill you in, or PM you, or whatever he chooses.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Thu May 02, 2013 3:12 pm
Profile WWW
LQFP144 - On Top Of The Game
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:57 am
Posts: 565
Location: Gosport, IN USA
Nathan,

Nice score from craigslist, I have a Saleae Logic as well :-)

Before I sell anyone a Jaguar 0.4-alpha board or kit I would like to first test it on the FreeEMS S10, I have already found two small errors in the pad connections for the surface mount AAP and MAP sensors, but if you are going to use an external MAP sensor this isn't an issue.

I'll update my "Jaguar 0.4-alpha PCB Status (was Jaguar A4 PCB Status)" thread http://forum.diyefi.org/viewtopic.php?f=67&t=1810 soon with the testing progress and some photos. :-)

_________________
Andy.
FreeEMS vehicle #11, 1932 Ford 5 Window Coupe with a 1996 GM 3.1L SFI V6 with DIS ignition
FreeEMS vehicle #16, 1996 Chevrolet S10 2.2L SFI I4 with DIS ignition
http://www.coolefi.com


Thu May 02, 2013 3:32 pm
Profile WWW
TO220 - Visibile

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 1:58 am
Posts: 7
DeuceEFI wrote:
Nathan,

Nice score from craigslist, I have a Saleae Logic as well :-)

Before I sell anyone a Jaguar 0.4-alpha board or kit I would like to first test it on the FreeEMS S10, I have already found two small errors in the pad connections for the surface mount AAP and MAP sensors, but if you are going to use an external MAP sensor this isn't an issue.

I'll update my "Jaguar 0.4-alpha PCB Status (was Jaguar A4 PCB Status)" thread http://forum.diyefi.org/viewtopic.php?f=67&t=1810 soon with the testing progress and some photos. :-)



Cool- I subscribed to that thread. I will most likely be using the stock GM MAP sensors unless there is a strong reason not to so the Pad errors are no big deal for me anyway.

Thanks,
Nathan


Thu May 02, 2013 6:46 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF. ColorizeIt.