Looking to get involved

FreeEMS topics that aren't specific to hardware development or firmware development.
max
TO220 - Visibile

Looking to get involved

Post by max »

Hello all

This is a quick message to introduce myself. This project looks like an extremely noble cause, one that I would like to help with both as a tester and hopefully as a developer.

I have been programming for about 10 years although I must admit usually in higher level languages and my EMS knowledge is somewhat limited. This being said, I am resourceful and can learn anything required.

I have a car which I can use this project on but I would want to keep it also running with the original ecu until I have a reliable set up because I use the car for track days. I can't see that as a huge problem although if it is I will get another car for the project. The car is a Nissan 200sx S14 which has a turbocharged SR20DET engine. It has COPs so I would probably run these sequentially and then use batch / semi batch injection. Is that what would be recommended?

I'm a bit confused and paralysed with where to start, there is a lot to this project. Should my starting place be creating / modifying a decoder for the SR20DET CAS?

Any advice on first steps into this fascinating project would be greatly appreciated.

Max
Fred

Re: Looking to get involved

Post by Fred »

Hey Max! Welcome along :-)

I saw your email too, but have been very busy recently, hence delayed response here as well.

The SR20DET 200sx will be fine for testing/experimentation, don't worry about that. The configuration you mention is one of the two best options at the moment, and which to run comes down to coil durability and personal taste. Certainly, that's the safe and conservative option. If you're on a stock or similary small turbo/injectors, then that will run admirably. Later you can have your cake and eat it too.