Newbee questions on injected LPG for a 289 windsor

FreeEMS topics that aren't specific to hardware development or firmware development.
oden
QFP80 - Contributor

Newbee questions on injected LPG for a 289 windsor

Post by oden »

Currently looking for an EMS for my 1965 Mustang which has a rather stock 289 windsor motor, this is a daily driver so I am looking for reliability and efficiency over power gain. Mostly interested in an injected LPG setup like this one http://www.cletusracin.com/index.php?pa ... megasquirt

Interested in this project because its open source and I have experience with embedded processors (PIC micros) and electronics so building the system will be possible. Although I am new to EMS technologies and only have basic engine knowledge, this will be my challenge.

So my questions are:
1) The configuration I will be looking for will be a v8 sequential injection and a distributor ignition ( ? based on above LTD link), is it correct that this configuration is not supported yet?
2) Been looking all over the forum and the general site and I can not find a feature list for FreeEMS. There is info scattered around but I dont have the understanding to make sense of it all, has a feature list been compiled? ( hardware specific I assume)
3) I found a post where Fred said knock sensing was low on the priority list, can I ask why is this so ? Is knock sensing not as useful as the car manufactures advertise?
4) How hard do you think this will be to achieve ( injected LPG ) ? Any suggestions welcome.

Love the work you guys are doing here :)
Fred

Re: Newbee questions on injected LPG for a 289 windsor

Post by Fred »