FrankenCIS (Bosch K-Jetronic / CIS) project dilemma

Free Open Source Firmware project discussion forum. Post your Free Open Source firmware projects here!
reanimotion
QFP80 - Contributor

FrankenCIS (Bosch K-Jetronic / CIS) project dilemma

Post by reanimotion »

Hi Everyone,

I've been floating around doing my own thing for a few years now, and also kept an eye out on who was doing what, So I'm new, but not new to the FreeEMS ecosystem you have here.

For fun and giggles I came up with the idea of marrying a modern EMS to the Bosch K-Jetronic / CIS injection system common to euro vehicles from the 70's to early 90's, and initially figured it would just be a fun technical exercise that might interest a small group of similar lunatics. Apparently the idea actually fills a rather large gap in the market, creating nice little following as soon as I announced the project on the Pelican Parts forum in July. see http://forums.pelicanparts.com/911-930- ... encis.html

Now for the dilemma....
I was happy and comfortable using the M$ [sic and I quite like the moniker] platform as
1. I had one in the vehicle already purely for canbus emulation
2. I figured there might be less than a dozen people interested in duplicating the prototype setup in it's simplest form
3. IP would not be an issue if we were clever in the way we handled the disclosure.

The intention was always to use M$ for initial development and in parallel do our own hardware and firmware using something a little better.
Freescale cores have been our bread and butter for a number of years now on our telematics and canbus modules so we wanted to retain FS as the hardware.
We also wanted to retain and enhance the community side if things by leveraging M$, o5e and FreeEMS etc. where possible as mix and match DIY options for the varied levels of end-user now interested in this.
But, our friends in the DIY arena are becoming a little greedy and protective so I want to jump ship before it's too late.