View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:01 pm



Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Another microcontroller for me 
Author Message
LQFP144 - On Top Of The Game
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 12:47 am
Posts: 568
Location: New Zealand, land of the long white burnout
Haha yeah, the Arduino is a way off. Would like a standalone monitoring screen tho, to replace all those ugly gauges people stick in their car.

_________________
Owner / Builder: 1983 Mazda Cosmo 12at (1200cc 2-rotor turbo) coupe [SPASTK]
165hp @ 6psi standard - fastest production car in japan Oct 82


Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:32 pm
Profile WWW
LQFP112 - Up with the play
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 9:21 am
Posts: 140
Location: NSW, Australia
If you've got the microcontroller there why not give it a go.
The 16x2 LCD dot matrix I bought was only $20.00AUD with built in backlight.
See if you can find an LCD library for your microcontroller. I needed
4 x data lines
1 x R/W
1 x E
1 x RS line
but you can get serial LCDs that use less lines or use a shift register.

Maybe have several bits of data on screen at the same time, have it cycling through or have a push button to cycle through to the desired data.

Even code it so it displays selected data normally then flashes up "Error: xxx" if any of your monitored values go outside their limits.


Thu Apr 30, 2009 2:35 am
Profile
LQFP144 - On Top Of The Game
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 12:47 am
Posts: 568
Location: New Zealand, land of the long white burnout
COOL :D will try :D

_________________
Owner / Builder: 1983 Mazda Cosmo 12at (1200cc 2-rotor turbo) coupe [SPASTK]
165hp @ 6psi standard - fastest production car in japan Oct 82


Thu Apr 30, 2009 4:40 am
Profile WWW
1N4001 - Signed up
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 5:17 pm
Posts: 1607
I have started looking into AVR's a bit closer. I see many fairly new developments, as well as many possible options. I thought I'd post about it here.

I'm curious if anyone knows if avr-gcc supports avr32? I see avr ports of the Linux kernel, so I would guess avr32 is supported. How does avr-gcc know what chip you are programming, there must be a config file or some such thing.

I also see the dfu-programmer. I'm still learning, but it appears that Atmel will sell AVR's with a USB boot loader pre-installed. This allows you to simply upload firmware via USB bit wiggling, so no special hardware, just a USB cable. Does anyone know if that is correct?

I believe the Arduino is currently 8 bit only. Are there avr32 versions of the Arduino?


Fri May 08, 2009 10:57 am
Profile
LQFP112 - Up with the play
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 9:21 am
Posts: 140
Location: NSW, Australia
The Arduino's are currently all 8bit, there has been some talk about the 32bit AVR's but that would require new libraries.

I had a bit of a look on http://www.avrfreaks.net but didn't find if avr-gcc supports AVR32 yet. From what I can tell the AVR32, PIC32 etc.. uC are still rather new and libraries, config, header files are still being written for them.
I think the PIC32 uses the pic-gcc.

If you do a search I have seen a few schematics for AVR programmers that go from a serial port to 6pin ISP using just afew resistors, diodes and connectors. PM me if you want me to dig out what info I have. I was going to try it out but have stuck with the PIC and PIC-KIT2 programmer for the moment since the battery safety circuit I designed seams to be a success at work.

I thought I had fried my poor little Arduino the other day when I swapped it into a bread-board I had been using for a PIC16F. Thought that the jumpers were positioned wrong and killed the uC. Found I had put it in the wrong way round. :oops: All good now.


Thu May 14, 2009 1:14 pm
Profile
QFP80 - Contributor

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:36 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Id, USA
The simple DIY serial programmers for the AVR ISP do actually work quite well on most of the AVR 8 bit devices (using avrdude). The actual AVR brand ISP programmers are the only way to go though if you want to be able to program newer devices ( and the XMEGA).

Its a simpler, more cost effective solution to use a AVR in DIP format and going with the ISP (vs using an ardrino) , in my opinion. You can add your own bootloader if you want it and just program in AVR-GCC. AVR chips are only a couple bucks and are simple to have up and running, check out basic "blink an led" examples to see.

As far as IDE i like to use avr studio in windows, or kontrollerlab in linux (Using avr-gcc and avr dude for programming on both).


Sat Dec 19, 2009 12:13 am
Profile WWW
LQFP112 - Up with the play
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 9:21 am
Posts: 140
Location: NSW, Australia
I'm looking at getting a few programmers for my tool kit again now that I am no longer working at the same workshop.

I have made a Robotics Control-Box project using a Playstation analog controller & ArduinoMega (uses the Atmega chip, lots of I/Os). The main reason I went with the Arduino is because of the ready made libraries to interface with the PSX controller and LCD. I will be going back to the PIC/AVR to try and learn more of the ''C'' language but at least I now have some experience and libraries to look over.

For those who like the Arduino environment and want to save a few bucks you could use the AVR chip in DIP format, add a crystal, then load the Arduino bootloader.


Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:44 am
Profile
1N4001 - Signed up

Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 1:23 am
Posts: 307
Location: Long Beach CA
longracing wrote:
For those who like the Arduino environment and want to save a few bucks you could use the AVR chip in DIP format, add a crystal, then load the Arduino bootloader.

I saw this the other day. If you've got a simple Arduino-based design and you want to make it permanent, but don't want or need to use the full Arduino development board, here is a small proto board with the Arduino processor on it.
http://www.makershed.com/ProductDetails ... ode=MKSKL4

Image


Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:47 am
Profile
LQFP112 - Up with the play
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 9:21 am
Posts: 140
Location: NSW, Australia
That's a neat looking board.

I need to get a PICKit 2 or 3 for myself so I can start playing with the UBW32 board I've got again. Yes, I deleted the boot loader :( and I no longer have access to the programmer I was using.
http://www.schmalzhaus.com/UBW32/


Sun Jan 10, 2010 11:33 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF. ColorizeIt.