My own reflow controller

Non-EMS Electronics related discussions and projects in here please.
ivan141
LQFP112 - Up with the play

My own reflow controller

Post by ivan141 »

Since I want to get back into electronics as a hobby I decided it would be great to have a reflow oven at hand.
Looking around the internet, it seems just about everybody and their mum has created their own controller, so why
shouldn't I join their ranks :lol2: .

Working from the following base wishes:
-No need for an onboard MCU, so just sticking a full arduino on there will do just fine.
-I don't know which control strategy is bestfor my intended oven, but since it's basically just
a halogen lamp, I decided to go for triac leading edge phase control, should keep the halogen cycle going.
-This is my first time dabbling with mains, so I'll stick a control output for a zero crossing SSR on there just in case.
-Minimal hardware user interface.. will probably run it connected to a pc with a GUI.

Already gathered the following bits:
-SSR
-BT139/600 triacs
-MAX13855 thermocouple IC
-Cheap(ish) thermocouple

Still busy with the design of the thing.. but I'm pretty much done.
Got a bit too creative with the silkscreens, but that's part of the fun.

Killed some time doing up a logo.. let the old country inspire me since I'm on a short holiday in serbia to attend a wedding.
Gotta love old commie imagery.

Here's the chinese 'flavorwave-turbo' style oven I got.. they boast decent ramp-up speeds, especially with slight modification and
only cost 30 euro's delivered to my doorstep. If Mr.T says it's the best, I would be a fool not to buy it, right?
FABRICA MI DIEM, PVNC!
Fred

Re: My own reflow controller

Post by Fred »

Beautiful trace routing! :-)
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!