Where to begin? 2001 Jeep Cherokee Classic

Post your project vehicles here! One thread per vehicle please.
B4outfitter
TO92 - Vaguely active

Where to begin? 2001 Jeep Cherokee Classic

Post by B4outfitter »

I am very new to this side of automobiling. In fact I am not ever sure where to start.

My Project: A 2001 Jeep Cherokee Classic. Its primary use is as a family carrier, but we are not your typical family. Most of our time is spent traveling to off-road and safari type adventures.

My Goal: To experiment with fuel mapping; better fuel economy and power gains. The former being priority.

I am not sure of all the possibilities of programing an ecu, but I am very attracted to the idea of it. And yet, I may be in over my head.

If I could get some feed back and/or ideas to begin on or to detour me from this aspect of the project, it would be appreciated. There are not a lot of options availible to the Cherokee enthusiast, therefore I have been inspired to investigate the possibilities.

Thank you,
Shannon
Fred

Re: Where to begin? 2001 Jeep Cherokee Classic

Post by Fred »

Hi, Welcome! :-)

FreeEMS is still in it's infancy, and is a fairly serious thing to start putting on your car at the moment, but if you want a practical solution and you want it now, MS2 isn't a bad way to go for the time being! :-)

Whatever you choose, your hardest part will be physical robustness! You need to keep it clean, dry and free from vibrations and even your engine RPM/Position sensors need to be protected as branches and such can end up poking around in your engine bay sometimes.

Maybe even look at microsquirt for it's environmental considerations.

I don't know how crazy you go off-raod, but I do know some people that go absolutely nuts and engine management needs to be done right for them :-)

If you're up for a lot of hand holding etc you could dual ecu the vehicle and help test code, but be aware, that would be a BIG time sink for you, and as HELL of a steep learning curve :-)