Newbie Introduction

Post your project vehicles here! One thread per vehicle please.
Locost_Johnh
TO220 - Visibile

Newbie Introduction

Post by Locost_Johnh »

Hello! I've got this wild idea that it would be fun to build my own ECU for my little car. The car is called a "Locost" which is a play on the name Lotus, of which it's a replica. I'm an electronics engineer, but it's been quite a while since I really did any design or built anything. I can hack around a little in other's code, but I get lost easily. I'm hoping to be able to take advantage of the work going on here to cobble together a simple system that I can learn from as I grow it.

Here are a few pics of the car. I built it myself with steel, a welder, fiberglass and resin. Many people ask "Is that, you know, like a kit car or something?" And I tell them "It's LIKE a kit, but without the KIT. You buy a book, steel, a welder and have at it." If anyone is interested, there are a bunch of loonies building these things and they mostly seem to roost at http://www.locostusa.com.

John
Attachments
All painted and ready to roll
All painted and ready to roll
Frame finished and w/ sides
Frame finished and w/ sides
Starting the frame
Starting the frame
Fred

Re: Newbie Introduction

Post by Fred »

Hi, and welcome along! :-)

I like the non-kit kit car, very cool. There is so much satisfaction in building your own stuff :-)
Locost_Johnh wrote:I'm hoping to be able to take advantage of the work going on here to cobble together a simple system that I can learn from as I grow it.
PERFECT!!

What is the donk? If you can suffer mechanical ignition on it, you can start FreeEMS fuel injection on it tomorrow. I drove my Volvo around 900 miles in the USA on the code in the last release. (and nothing much has changed, unfortunately, since then)

Fred.
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system