V12 ferrari 308 project

Post your project vehicles here! One thread per vehicle please.
mk e
1N4001 - Signed up

V12 ferrari 308 project

Post by mk e »

I’m a new member here and I figured this is as good a place to introduce myself as anywhere. My name is Mark and I’m a mechanical engineer. I’ve been playing at racing in various forms for almost 30 years now. I work in new product development and I have some decent experience in specifying system input/output requirements…so I know a lot more about what the engine needs and wants than most and probably a lot less about what the electronics are actually doing than most on this forum.

My current project is an 84 Ferrari 308. I’ve had the car 9 years now. The first thing I did when I got it was spend a year to rebuild the engine and design and install a supercharger system using a custom intake and an eaton MP90 blower. I installed a haltech E6k running multipoint injection with waste spark and it was good. It make 300 rwhp from the little 3.0 liter V8 and I drove it that way for a couple years.

After a couple years I decided if a small supercharger was good a bigger supercharger would be better so off with the MP90 and on with a whipple Ax2300 screw type blower with a new custom intake designed to hold a water/air intercooler. Off with the E6k and on with an E11V1. This setup made 420 rwhp at 22 psi on pump gas. The haltech just never quite delivered the control I was looking for so I upgraded to a motec M800 and things were good.