Jaguar XJ12 Build Thread

Post your project vehicles here! One thread per vehicle please.
Compassion
QFP80 - Contributor

Jaguar XJ12 Build Thread

Post by Compassion »

Hello FreeEMSers!

Edit: The comment thread can be found here.

The project I am planning is a Jaguar V12 engine transplant from a 1989 XJ-S HE with GM TH400 into a 1972 XJ6. Originally I had planned it for a later car in my possession, my 1979 XJ6L, but some other factors came up, locally. I’m fairly versed in wrenching and a lot of details on these cars. I know plenty of people that look under the hood and just don't know where to begin. :)

Technology has just jumped a good margin between then and now and I haven’t done a lot in regards to modern custom-EFI tuning, but I'm enthusiastic. I've still got a decent amount of knowledge and practice in DIY electronics. I’m not an electrical engineer by trade, but sometimes I do think about going back to University for it.

I’m short the original ECU & the harness that runs through the car for this project. I’ve got access to my fathers 1982 Daimler Double-Six (UK-spec) and 1985 Jaguar Sovereign HE (Euro/German-spec) for reference, in addition to a 1977 Jaguar XJ12L that has the D-Jetronic EFI setup with the original flat-head design. I'm curious to see how tight modern-EFI and tighter ignition timing (and potentially higher compression) can bring up the MPG numbers on that motor, because it sure was a guzzler.