FPGA project?

Free and Open Source Engine Management discussions excluding more specific things on this board.
toalan
Wideband Wizard

FPGA project?

Post by toalan »

I ordered a Digilent board a few months ago. I have not put it to use yet. Anyone have any cool automotive projects that an FPGA would be great for? Something not to hard, as I am a newb to FPGAs.
ababkin
LQFP112 - Up with the play

Re: FPGA project?

Post by ababkin »

No automotive projects i've seen

what board did you get? There is a free logic analyzer project for one of the digilent boards (spartan 3 , not 3e though)

Alex
Legal disclaimer for all my posts: I'm not responsible for anything, you are responsible for everything. This is an open and free world with no strings attached.
toalan
Wideband Wizard

Post by toalan »

I have the 3E board, I have seen the FPGA logic analyzer and it looks pretty nice, but I already have a ghetto logic analyzer.
jharvey
1N4001 - Signed up

Post by jharvey »

I think a fairly large issue with FPGA's in the automotive world is the need to be loaded up every time they are booted. That loading time makes it hard to get the first spark and fuel correct.

FPGA's are usually best for places where you have a lot of data that needs specific processing. They would best here for complicated tasks, but probably not very good for the overall project. Perhaps a sub-set of EMS maybe ion sensing. I could see that as having several signal blocks that might be able to be done with an FPGA.
ababkin

Post by ababkin »

toalan: What ghetto analyzer you have? i haven't seen a free one for 3E

jharvey: I think the time-critical part of EMS is the perfect field for programmable logic. Usually there is just not enough high res counters in regular uC's to cover many cylinders (barring the software ISR's with their indeterministic delays). Things like ion sensing or knock detection is another good use for it.

Alex