View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:31 am



Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
2005 RL stock widebands how to interface? 
Author Message
QFP80 - Contributor

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 3:06 am
Posts: 31
05 RL came with 2 widebands one for each bank

what would be the best way to get readings from both of them?

I was reading that hooking up an air fuel gauge will affect the voltages and fueling


Sun Oct 23, 2016 7:43 am
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 14913
Location: Home sweet home!
More context, please:

What's an RL?
Get readings how? Into what?

I could guess a bit more, but it'd be better if you spelled it out a bit better :-)

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:43 am
Profile WWW
QFP80 - Contributor

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 3:06 am
Posts: 31
acura RL

readings from the stock wideband sensors without affecting the voltage that goes to the ECU from those wideband sensors

because of the SH-awd theres no k-pro or any kind of ecu mods

but I'm so used to having a wideband gauge in my car. I want to add one to this car but since it uses 5 wire o2 sensors from the factory I was wondering if its possible to add an air fuel ratio gauge and what would be the best way to wire it up


Tue Oct 25, 2016 11:19 pm
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 14913
Location: Home sweet home!
I guess the first thing is that it's pointless if you have no control of the mixture, get normal mileage, and the car drives OK.

Second thing is that the 5 wires tell you nothing without a controller attached to them. Key word, controller. One controller. Two cooks spoil the broth. You can't just read a voltage. Thus you need to intercept the signal post the factory controller. Or replace them. Neither of those things seem feasible.

So third: If you want a gauge that bad, weld in new bung/bungs and run an aftermarket controller and sensor and gauge in parallel.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Fri Oct 28, 2016 11:52 pm
Profile WWW
QFP80 - Contributor

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 3:06 am
Posts: 31
ok that makes sense.
are there any obd2 port adapters like scangauge or similar that would read air fuel ratio?
I tried ultragauge but it doesn't show it just long and short trim.
the only way to change anything would be a vtec controller and adjusting fuel pressure as far as I know.
after adding boltons. I usually end up increasing the fuel pressure slightly and it helps to get proper fuel at the higher rpm in open loop


Wed Nov 02, 2016 2:50 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF. ColorizeIt.