Bosch LSU 4.x controller from Arduino / Maple or similar

Free and Open Source Engine Management discussions excluding more specific things on this board.
Delifisek
TO220 - Visibile

Bosch LSU 4.x controller from Arduino / Maple or similar

Post by Delifisek »

Greetings,

I'm from Turkey. We are trying build custom Bosch LSU 4.x sensor controller which sends data to pc via bluetooth / wifi. Our aim build custom carb tuner, our electronic knlowledge was very limited.

My Questions are

Can arduino / maple or similar class devices has enough cpu power to drive bosch LSU sensor. (we want to use them because of their availability and manufacturing quality)

I see lots of controller designs which have lot of small electonic components other than microcontrollers. Can we emulate their functions via programming ?

My education was junior high scool and I had some self taught english. Can you suggest books / sites / documents to improve myself in electronics are. I'm cabaple self learner.

Best Regards
DaWaN
QFP80 - Contributor

Re: Bosch LSU 4.x controller from Arduino / Maple or similar

Post by DaWaN »

Delifisek wrote: Can arduino / maple or similar class devices has enough cpu power to drive bosch LSU sensor. (we want to use them because of their availability and manufacturing quality)
Yes, an arduino does have enough processing power if you want to make a wideband sensor
Delifisek wrote: I see lots of controller designs which have lot of small electonic components other than microcontrollers. Can we emulate their functions via programming ?
No you can not, you must use atleast an opamp with some resistors to be able to measure current. You will also need some power device (like MOSFET) to control the lambda heater

The tech edge site has a nice basic explanation on Wideband lambda sensors and the required circuits for it:
http://www.wbo2.com/lsu/lsuworks.htm