View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Sep 24, 2017 9:45 am



Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Nifty Wideband to Check Out [JAW, old thread] 
Author Message
LQFP112 - Up with the play

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 5:51 pm
Posts: 205
Admin wrote:
Here is that article from the magazine showing that only AEM and Innovate are accurate enough :

http://www.emspowered.com/vb/showthread ... t=wideband

Admin.


They need to test the JAW. It is completely digital like the Innovate and so I have hope for it.

_________________
Keith MacDonald
Control Engineering (Systems) Technologist


Mon May 26, 2008 6:03 pm
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 14781
Location: Home sweet home!
Yeah, that would be nice. Although, given that LC-1 IS accurate, a simple side by side would be sufficient to get a good idea of how good/bad the JAW is. I also hold out high hopes for it :-)

Fred.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Mon May 26, 2008 6:34 pm
Profile WWW
Post Whore!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 12:11 am
Posts: 629
Location: Sunny San Diego
Good point, I'll see if I can get someone to run both on the same car.

It does turn out to cost a bit, after you get all the parts.... $150 is not an unrealistic JAW budget to actually get running. Then again, you get a gauge for that much. Something I'm *sorely* lacking in my current, innovative set up. Two programmable outs and a digital display is pretty attractive.

Perhaps I can trick the MS to logging them both.
-Abe.

-------
interestingly, the speed was something they listed, but so was having a real time guage (cheaper on the jaw) and free air calibration (also something the jaw does). Not saying it's better, or even as good, but that it has potential.

I will say, seeing it in person, that it's a bit big, and the readout board is laid out poorly, being twice as large as it needs to be. I'm a fan of compact, not all of us drive trucks.


Tue May 27, 2008 8:59 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 14781
Location: Home sweet home!
A digital gauge is very easy to implement for any 1-2v output. I swear it used to be in the Innovate manual, but I can't see it anymore...

Fred.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Tue May 27, 2008 11:30 pm
Profile WWW
Post Whore!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 12:11 am
Posts: 629
Location: Sunny San Diego
It both wastes an output, and isn't terribly accurate.

I'm a bit curious, btw, about just how accurate any analog communication can be. These gauges scare me.

It seems repeatability is more important than an actual absolute number, everything I see tuned has AFR's "between 12 and 13", you know? Not like they hit 12.485:1 and hold it all the way across, certainly not after a competent tune.


Tue May 27, 2008 11:40 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 14781
Location: Home sweet home!
8InchesFlacid wrote:
It both wastes an output, and isn't terribly accurate.


Oh contrare, it's perfectly accurate, and, what on earth would you want to use the other output for?? 1 x ECU, 1 x Gauge = FTW (pretty sure that's why they stuck them there)

Quote:
I'm a bit curious, btw, about just how accurate any analog communication can be. These gauges scare me.


With proper grounding techniques it will be very good. You literally output a voltage between 1 and 2 with the lc1 which corresponds to 10 - 20 afr and then measure that voltage with (duh) a voltmeter and use the jumpers on it to shift the decimal down one place. This is what I'll probably be doing unless I get lazy and buy a moates ometer.

Fred.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Wed May 28, 2008 9:55 am
Profile WWW
Post Whore!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 12:11 am
Posts: 629
Location: Sunny San Diego
It's not terrible. Sure, you're losing some accuracy (there's two bits just in using only 1V of range out of a 5 V possible), but there's no arguing with the accuracy of a digital signal. I wish the computer could get one.


Hmmm, perhaps it can, I wonder how the display on that works.

Much as I hate parallel installs, you can have uses for two outputs and a guage.

1) Like in my car, I have TWO guages, and the computer
2) People running in parallel often want to feed the OEM ECU a signal so the stock computer can run off it. Also good if they are using soley the OEM ecu, without an aftermarket EMS.
3) Someone who wants to datalog with a stand alone logger.


Wed May 28, 2008 5:51 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 14781
Location: Home sweet home!
8InchesFlacid wrote:
1) Like in my car, I have TWO guages, and the computer

Image

Otherwise, yes, you are right about the 1/5 thing, and OK, oem + standalone + gauge, but who the hell would do that...

I agree digital would be nice. I'd like to see that as an option on ours too.

Does anyone know the serial interface spec for the LC-1 ?

Fred.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Wed May 28, 2008 6:37 pm
Profile WWW
Post Whore!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 12:11 am
Posts: 629
Location: Sunny San Diego
lc1lc1lc1... Why not get the serial spec for the JAW? :-)

With precious little redesign, that whole thing would fit easily within any ecu box. I should ask the guy how much power it takes, turning it into a MS-card would be awesome. And a digital interface for the FreeEMS would be good, too.
-Abe.


Wed May 28, 2008 7:31 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 14781
Location: Home sweet home!
Because I own and LC1 and I don't own a JAW (yet). Both would be good for sure :-)

Fred.

_________________
DIYEFI.org - where Open Source means Open Source, and Free means Freedom
FreeEMS.org - the open source engine management system
FreeEMS dev diary and its comments thread and my turbo truck!
n00bs, do NOT PM or email tech questions! Use the forum!
The ever growing list of FreeEMS success stories!


Wed May 28, 2008 7:50 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF. ColorizeIt.